Leadership Team

The Hargreaves Services plc Board of Directors leads the organisation - and the Group Executive team is responsible for the operational management of the company.

Board of Directors

Hargreaves Services David Morgan Non-Executive Chairman Joined 2012

David is a Chartered Accountant with significant Board and senior management experience.

Previously: Trained with KPMG. Spent 20 years with Johnson Matthey plc and was Executive Director, Corporate Development 1999-2009. Was also Non Executive Director, Riversoft plc 2000-2002.

Currently: Chairs Advisory Board, Conduit Ventures Ltd and Advisory Board, Imperial College London Dept of Chemistry. Is Chairman of Nord Gold NV and Econic Technologies Ltd, Deputy Chairman of SFC Energy AG and Non Executive Director of The Royal Mint. 

Hargreaves Services John Samuel Group Finance Director Joined 2018

John is a Chartered Accountant and qualified with Deloitte & Co in 1981.

He became a partner with Baker Tilly in 1986, leaving that firm to join a client, Filtronic plc in 1991, leading its flotation in 1994.

John has served as finance director of a number of public companies subsequently, notably since 2006 at Renew Holdings plc.


Group Finance Director Filtronic plc, Chief Financial Officer Zetex PLC, Group Finance Director Renew Holdings plc.

Hargreaves Services Nigel Halkes Non-Executive Director Joined 2015

Nigel read economics at Bristol University. He qualified as a chartered accountant with Ernst & Young and was made a partner in 1988 at the age of 32.

Previously: He served 25 years as a partner, rising to become Managing Partner Markets for the UK & Ireland, responsible for the firm’s growth strategy, relationship with major clients and the business development function. He served some of the firm’s largest clients, including auditing British Coal in the period up to privatisation. He served three years as an elected member of the CBI London Council. He retired from Ernst & Young at the end of 2013 to pursue a portfolio non-executive career spanning the public, private & charitable sectors.

Currently: Sits on the board of Visit England and FreeAgent Holdings PLC.

Hargreaves Services Gordon Banham Group Chief Executive Joined 2001

Gordon joined Hargreaves in 2001, and was subsequently appointed as Group Chief Executive.

He led a management buyout in 2004, and the company’s flotation on the London Stock Exchange in the following year.

He has since guided a series of major acquisitions for the company.

Previously: Managing Director, F Banham Ltd (until 1994), General Manager, Charrington Fuels Ltd (1995), Distribution Director, CPL Group (1995-2001).

Hargreaves Services Peter Jones Non-Executive Director Joined 2014

Peter joined Hargreaves Servies plc on June 6 2014 and brings to the company many years of senior management and Board experience.

Previously: Chief Executive of The Mersey Docks & Harbour Co Ltd (to 2006) before serving as Chief Executive of Associated British Ports until March 2013.

Currently: Peter serves as Chairman of the Port of Milford Haven and is a Non-Executive Director of Henderson Opportunities Trust plc and also a Non-Executive Director of SKIL Ports & Logistics Ltd.

Hargreaves Services Andrew Robertson General Counsel & Group Company Secretary Joined 2013

Andrew joined Hargreaves in January 2013 as General Counsel. In 2014 he was appointed Group Company Secretary.

Previously: Andrew trained as a solicitor at Dickinson Dees (now Womble Bond Dickinson), qualifying into the Insolvency & Restructuring Team in 2002 and progressing to the role of Director.

Andrew read law at Durham University.